Navigate Up
Sign In
EEC and ESCAP signed Memorandum of Understanding

EEC and ESCAP signed Memorandum of Understanding


The Member of the Board – Minister in charge of Economy and Financial Policy of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) Timur Zhaksylykov and the Executive Secretary of the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) Armida Salsiah Alisjahbana signed a Memorandum of Understanding. The ceremony was held as part of the Astana Economic Forum on May 17.
The Memorandum defines various spheres of cooperation, including trade, transport, energy, investment, business development as well as cooperation mechanisms through the exchange of information, consultations, seminars, conferences, forums, round tables and other events, the preparation of joint analytical and other reviews.
The interaction with ESCAP, the largest of the UN regional commissions (with 4.1 billion people or two thirds of the world’s population living in the ESCAP region), will have a positive influence on the activities of both international organizations.
For reference
The Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP), the largest of the United Nations regional commissions, was established in 1947. It is designed to promote social and economic development in Asia and the Pacific as well as subregional, regional and interregional cooperation. The ESCAP membership is given to 53 countries, including Russia and eight other CIS countries (Azerbaijan, Armenia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan). Four States - Great Britain, the Netherlands, the USA and France - are “non-regional members”. Nine territories in Asia and the Pacific make part of the Commission as associate members with a consultative vote.