20.02.2024 (Обновлено: 21.02.2024 16:36)

Requirement to charge tourist tax to EAEU States citizens cancelled in Kazakhstan

At its meeting held on February 20, the Eurasian Economic Commission's Board discussed the issue of removing an obstacle having signs of a barrier, concerning the requirement to charge a tourist tax in the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Starting from August 1, 2023, the Republic of Kazakhstan established requirements for charging a tourist tax to foreigners, including citizens of the Eurasian Economic Union States. The Commission, as part of considering the issue in accordance with the Methodology for qualifying obstacles in the internal market of the Eurasian Economic Union, concluded that these requirements contain an obstacle having signs of barriers. 

Owing to the prompt work of the authorized bodies in the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Order of the Minister of Culture and Sports of the Republic of Kazakhstan was amended, whereby the EAEU States citizens are not charged the tourist tax.

"We can only welcome such decisions of the Union Member States, as they contribute to further development and functioning of the EAEU internal markets. This example is a good confirmation of efficient mediation procedures actively applied in our work," commented Varos Simonyan, EEC Minister in charge of Internal Markets, Informatization, Information and Communication Technologies.