24.05.2023 (Обновлено: 29.05.2023 17:46)

Winners and finalists of Green Eurasia International Environmental Competition awarded during EEF

The winners and finalists of the first Green Eurasia International Climate Competition, organized by the Eurasian Economic Commission and the Agency for Strategic Initiatives to Promote New Projects, received their awards. The ceremony was held as part of the program of the 2nd Eurasian Economic Forum.

“The competition is another good illustration of the multifaceted interaction between our Union countries on the climate track. The climate agenda holds a special place in the life of our present-day world Our countries have committed themselves to achieve carbon neutrality, and this is a complex process affecting all aspects of the economy,” stated Alexei Overchuk, Chairman of the Council of the Eurasian Economic Commission and Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation, opening the ceremony.

He has stressed that the projects of the Green Eurasia Competition clearly demonstrate that all the Eurasian Economic Union States are now included in the climate agenda. In this regard, the Deputy Prime Minister expressed the hope that the practices highly appreciated by experts would be in demand for developing the EAEU technological sovereignty in light of the growing impact of climate issues on our lives.

“Today we have gathered here not only to focus on contemporary challenges, but also to find innovative solutions thereto. I would like to pay tribute to the competition participants, who enthusiastically contributed to developing practical solutions aimed at the sustainable development of our countries,” continued Mher Grigoryan, Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of Armenia.

In turn, Igor Petrishenko, Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of Belarus, noted the importance of continuing the competition on the yearly base. According to him, the Eurasian Economic Commission will be able to supplement the data bank of climate projects for scaling and implementation in the EAEU space.

“There were just under 300 applications in different categories, the interest was very high. We really need to run the competition on a regular basis, almost everyone who summarized the results of the current competition agreed on this”, summed up Andrey Slepnev, EEC Minister in charge of Trade.

The winners in the ten nominated categories included the following companies, government authorities and natural persons:

– in the Clean Energy and Energy Efficiency category: Rusatom Overseas JSC (1st place, Russian Federation), Hevel Energoservice (2nd place, Russian Federation), RUS-TEK Energoaudit (3rd place, Russian Federation), Salym Petroleum Development JSC (3rd place, Russian Federation);

– in the Clean Manufacturing Industry category: Metafrax Chemicals (1st place, Russian Federation), RusEnergoProekt (2nd place, Russian Federation), Messoyakhaneftegaz JSC (3rd place, Russian Federation);

– in the “Sustainable Agriculture” category: Fly and See Agro LLC (1st place, Russian Federation), Republican Production Unitary Enterprise “Vitebskoblgaz” (2nd place, Republic of Belarus), AIK LLC (3rd place, Russian Federation);

- in the "Low Carbon Transport" category: State Production Association "Belorusneft" (1st place, Republic of Belarus), State Unitary Enterprise "Mosgortrans" (1st place, Russian Federation), Federal Freight Company JSC (2nd place, Russian Federation), State Corporation VEB.RF (3rd place, Russian Federation);

– in the Sustainable Building category: Unigreen Energy (1st place, Russian Federation), DOM.RF (2nd place, Russian Federation), State Corporation VEB.RF (2nd place, Russian Federation), RocketGroup (3rd place, Russian Federation);

– in the Green Financing category: Moscow City Government (1st place, Russian Federation), Center-Invest Bank (2nd place, Russian Federation), Sberbank PJSC (3rd place, Russian Federation);

– in the “Efficient Waste Management” category: Moscow City Government (1st place, Russian Federation), EcoBioTech (2nd place, Russian Federation), High Industrial Lubricants & Liquids Corporation, Limited Liability Partnership (2nd place, Republic of Kazakhstan), Municipal Production Unitary Enterprise "Brest Waste Processing Plant" (3rd place, Republic of Belarus);

- in the category "Environmental Culture and Public Involvement in the Climate Agenda": interregional environmental non-governmental organization "ECA" (1st place, Russian Federation), SEICO Public Association (2nd place, Kyrgyz Republic), interregional non-governmental organization "Clean Games" ( 3rd place, Russian Federation), State Budgetary Institution "Ecological and Biological Center "Sledovo", Kostroma Region (3rd place, Russian Federation);

- in the "Environmental and Climate Monitoring" category: Demlab LLC (1st place, Russian Federation), A.N. Shikhov (2nd place, Russian Federation), Research and Education Center "Center for Carbon Regulation and Sustainable Development in Transport" of the Institute of International Transport Communications of the Federal State Autonomous Educational Institution of Higher Education "Russian University of Transport" (3rd place, Russian Federation), URUS-Smart Digital Services LLC (3rd place, Russian Federation);

- in the category "State Policy in the Field of Low-Carbon Development": Public Services Regulatory Commission of the Republic of Armenia (1st place, Republic of Armenia), Vologda City Administration (2nd place, Russian Federation), State Committee for Standardization of the Republic of Belarus (2nd place, Republic of Belarus ) and the Sakhalin Region Government (3rd place, Russian Federation).