Economic Community of Central African States shows interest in cooperation with EAEU

The first working meeting of official representatives of the Eurasian Economic Commission and the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCA) took place on the sidelines of the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum. The EEC delegation was headed by Sergei Glazyev, Minister in charge of Integration and Macroeconomics, the ESGCA delegation was headed by Gilbert da Piedade Verissima, Chairman of the organization's Commission.

Sergei Glazyev informed his interlocutor about the activation of the Commission's contacts with both regional and subregional integration associations in Africa after the First Russia – Africa Summit held in Sochi.

In turn, Gilbert da Piedade Verissimo spoke in favor of establishing interaction between the ESGCA, the EAEU and the EEC as the Union's supranational body and emphasized the interest in studying the EAEU's best practices and integration practices.

The participants of the meeting agreed to hold joint thematic sessions and seminars on topics of mutual interest, including sustainable development issues, at the venues of the upcoming Second Russia – Africa Summit and as part of events organized by international organizations of the UN system (UNCTAD, ECOSOC, etc.). The parties also reached understanding on the need to conduct joint presentations of integration associations for a wide audience both in the EAEU and the ESGCA.

Sergei Glazyev informed Gilbert da Piedade Verissima about the current aspects of the Eurasian Economic Union's development, including the results of the Union's international activities. In turn, the interlocutor expressed interest in establishing a sustainable dialogue with the EEC and the possibility of working out the issue of formalizing cooperation with the Commission.

For reference

The Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) is an integration association of Central African countries established in 1983, which includes Angola, Burundi, Gabon, DRC, Cameroon, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, CAR, Chad, Equatorial Guinea.

The stated goals of the organization include developing the integration processes between the participating countries, promoting their comprehensive enhancement based on their own economic forces, and moving towards the creation of a common market. Besides the "classic" set of integration tasks, the ESGCA is also involved in strengthening peace and stability, combating terrorism and piracy, and supporting electoral processes in the community space.