EEC Council approved Procedure for interaction between EAEU States and Commission when countries impose and lift restrictions in mutual trade in goods

At the meeting of the EEC Council held on April 15 in Moscow in a face-to-face format, the Vice-Prime Ministers of the Eurasian Economic Union countries approved the Procedure for interaction between the Union States and the Commission when countries impose and lift restrictions on mutual trade in goods on grounds specified in Article 29 of the Treaty on the EAEU dated May 29, 2014.
It bears reminding that Article 29 of the Treaty on the EAEU provides the possibility for countries to apply restrictions if such restrictions are required to ensure national security, protect human life and health, protect public morals and public order, the environment, animals and plants and cultural values.

The document will enable regulating the timing and content of restrictions imposed by the countries.

"Today our countries face brand-new challenges against the background of tremendous tension and contradictions in international relations, which shifts the integration issues towards ensuring economic stability of the countries and the Union’s internal market. Today's decision will enable introducing a pro-Eurasian consultation mechanism to the Union's practice, including to elaborate joint decisions on restrictive measures that will enable increasing predictability and transparency in the internal market and mitigate negative effects of external pressure on our Union", noted Varos Simonyan, EEC Minister in charge of Internal Markets and Information and Communication Technologies.