EAEU countries to be granted tariff exemption for importing electric vehicles until year-end 2023

The Eurasian Economic Commission’s Council has decided to grant a tariff exemption in the form of customs exemption in respect of electric vehicles imported into the EAEU countries in limited quantities.

The customs exemption is granted only to citizens who are permanently resident in the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Kyrgyz Republic. Along with that, the rights of possession, use and disposal of electric vehicles may not be transferred to persons who have the nationality and (or) permanent residence in the Russian Federation.

"As expected, applying tariff exemptions along with other measures aimed at encouraging the demand for and manufacture of electric vehicles and developing a network of charging stations will help create a window of opportunities for a wider distribution of such vehicles as well as their manufacture in the EAEU", noted Andrey Slepnev, EEC Minister in charge of Trade.
The decision shall come into effect after 10 calendar days have elapsed from the date of its official publication.

For reference

The rate of the CCT EAEU import customs duty in respect of electric vehicles is 15% of the customs value. In accordance with Decision No. 29 of the EEC Council dated March 16, 2020, a duty of 0% was applied from May 4, 2020 through December 31, 2021.

Information Support Section of the EEC Organizational Support and Protocol Department