01.01.2022 (Обновлено: 31.01.2022 14:43)

Chairmanship in EAEU governing bodies assigned to Kyrgyz Republic

During 2022, the Kyrgyz Republic will preside over the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council, the Eurasian Intergovernmental Council and the Council of the Eurasian Economic Commission.

As part of its chairmanship, the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council’s meeting and the Eurasian Economic Forum are scheduled to be held in May in Bishkek, and the Eurasian Intergovernmental Council’s meeting is traditionally scheduled in August on the shore of Issyk-Kul Lake as well as a number of other expert events.

In the near future, Sadyr Zhaparov, President of the Kyrgyz Republic and Chairman of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council, is expected to address the Heads of States of the Eurasian Economic Union with priority areas of Kyrgyzstan's chairmanship in the EAEU governing bodies.

 For reference

In accordance with the Treaty on the EAEU, the chairmanship in the Supreme Council, the Intergovernmental Council and the Commission's Council shall be assumed on a rotation basis in the Russian alphabetical order by one Member State within one calendar year without the right for prolongation.